Green Industry related small images

Project Background Our Approach Our Partners Our Contributors Best Management Practices Accreditation & Certification
Growers are working

You are here: Home>our project

Our Contributors

Dr. Thomas H. Yeager

Professor, Nursery Crops, University of Florida, IFAS

Phone: 352.392.1831 x 363

Fax : 352.392.3870

Email: yeagert@ufl.edu

Ph.D. Horticulture, Virginia Polytechnic Institute 1981

M.S. Horticulture, Virginia Polytechnic Institute 1979

B.S. Horticulture, Auburn University 1975

Dr.Yeager's picture

Tom Yeager is a native of Alabama where he managed a wholesale container nursery before pursuing graduate studies in Virginia . After completing his Ph.D., he assumed research and extension responsibilities at University of Florida where a team approach and partnerships have resulted in significant accomplishments. Recent accomplishments include leading the development of a Best Management Practices (BMP) Guide for container nursery crops. Several universities, governmental agencies, and the nursery industry worked cooperatively to write the BMP Guide that was printed by the Southern Nursery Association.

The long-term objectives of the research and extension program are to develop fertilization and irrigation regimes for the commercial nursery industry that will minimize nutrient loss to the production environment. This may be achieved by implementing management strategies based on model systems in which plant growth and nutrient loss (efficiency) can be predicted from environmental and physical inputs. The immediate or short-term objectives are to establish uptake parameters and nutrient utilization for plants grown with different fertilization regimes. The scientifically-based information obtained from the research program is disseminated to plant producers through the network of county extension personnel conducting county or regional educational programs in addition to industry association seminars, print and electronic media.





Dr. Bill Bauerle

Dr. Richard Beeson

Dr. Ted Bilderback

Dr. Susan D. Day

Sarah Dickinson

Dr. Roger Harris

Dr. Chuan Hong

Dr. John Lea-Cox

Mary Lorscheider

Dr. David Ross

Dr. Andrew Ristvey

Dr. John M. Ruter

Dr. Tom Yeager