Green Industry related small images

Project Background Our Approach Our Partners Our Contributors Best Management Practices Accreditation & Certification
Growers are working

You are here: Home>our project

Our Contributors

Dr. Richard Beeson

Associate Professor, Environmental Horticulture

University of Florida

Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences

Mid-Florida Research & Education Center

2725 Binion Road,

Apopka, FL 32703-8504

Tel: (407)-884-2034



Dr. Beeson is a plant physiologist/ornamental horticulturist who specializes in water use and requirements of woody ornamental plants. While the emphasis is on nursery production and optimizing irrigation for growth, the need to establish lower limits for acceptable growth has led to a broader knowledge of plant growth responses to a range of soil water availability. His research includes water requirements of shrubs and landscape trees from 1 gal to 300 gal containers, and both above ground and inground systems.

In recent years, much of his research has focused on alternative production systems for the woody ornamental shrubs. The objective of this research was to improve the application efficiency of overhead impact sprinkler irrigation systems. A parallel line of research has been to quantify plant water use (actual evapotranspiration ET A ) of a range of woody shrubs and trees from liners to marketable size material. From this he is developing models to predict daily irrigation requirements based on reference evapotranspiration and plant size. These are applicable for both production and landscape situations. Cumulative ET A of these plants will also allow for better planning for water resources required for production.

Dr. Beeson in a member of the Environmental Horticulture Department and located at the Mid-Florida Research and Education Center in Apopka. He is a member of the American Society for Horticultural Science, International Society for Arboriculture and International Plant Propagators Society.




Dr. Bill Bauerle

Dr. Richard Beeson

Dr. Ted Bilderback

Dr. Susan D. Day

Sarah Dickinson

Dr. Roger Harris

Dr. Chuan Hong

Dr. John Lea-Cox

Mary Lorscheider

Dr. David Ross

Dr. Andrew Ristvey

Dr. John M. Ruter

Dr. Tom Yeager